|
|
#31 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10,610
|
while its clear you have commited several crimes, this could be in fact a scam. I honestly dont know how you would be able to tell the difference. Its also unlikely that you IP will be able to help you determine if it is or is not legit. Perhaps you should respond but of course do not give any personal info
__________________
http://nexgenwars.com/ ALL BLANK FRIEND REQUESTS WILL BE DELETED 96 PS3 Now Playing Dishonored; 86 Xbox360 Now Playing Metro Last Light; 17 Wii Now Playing Nothing. ![]() ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#32 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 658
|
Let me guess...
Quote:
Ignore it. Any LEGAL correspondence will not be done via email. (Generally all you will get via email, is a "cease and desist"...which you really should listen to, as they really are watching your account at that point) You will recieve legal correspondence via a court stamped/headed letter in the mail (which can be verified that it was delivered), which will either have a offer to pay a fine or (at your option) have a time and date set for your appearance in court to plead your case. Simply because a source states that your IP address is linked to a file that has violated copyright laws, does not directly infer your guilt. You can contact your ISP and ask them about it, which also does not infer your guilt, as your only inquiring as to why you recieved such a thing. Also, be sure to ensure that if you do choose to go ahead and make that "fine payment" you get a reciept for it stating what it was for. Also, be sure to get it in writing not email...that you have paid your fine and that by doing so, it negates any further legal action in the matter towards you. Everything I have seen and heard about these guys is that they are more or less BS. Last edited by Psikorps; 02-01-2013 at 02:00 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#33 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,720
|
Quote:
Anyway, I agree. Make sure you're just not paying some scammer. Contact your ISP and ask why you're getting this and if you want to push it, get it in writing.
__________________
RESISTANCE 2 - 10,000 kills: 10006/10,000 IT. IS. DONE. |
|
|
|
|
|
#34 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Great White North
Posts: 836
|
Quote:
n if it is legit a 200$ fine is very weak compared to some of the fines that some people have gotten from these multi million $ companies. when i talked to my isp up here in canada about this they said that if they got a letter from riaa/mpaa they would let me know that i was being looked @ first before providing them w/ any of my info, so its would be a warning first here. Last edited by hungherk; 02-01-2013 at 02:47 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#36 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City (GMT-6)
Posts: 9,879
|
Truly wild. Have never heard of his happening.
__________________
You need to post >How many platinums and/or 100% do you have this year? Not all ppl are gamers, we are the lucky ones. Latest Plat Split/Second. Just call me Free. ![]() Click here to post >How many platinums and/or 100% do you have this year? |
|
|
|
|
#37 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,269
|
Consult a lawyer. Sounds like a scam.
At the very least call your ISP and explain that you got a notice for copyright infringement and claim you never do so. If your ISP tells you otherwise, you would know it's legit cause they actually reported your "illegal" activity. If your ISP acts surprised, scam. Always always go with "not guilty" until otherwise legally advised. |
|
|
|
|
#38 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,093
|
Quote:
Best advice so far. This blows dude. Im sorry. |
|
|
|
|
|
#39 (permalink) | |
![]() |
Quote:
Anyways, OP, if you have any other questions you can PM me and I'll track down a few of my friends who actually do deal in copyright and the like.
__________________
Last edited by N7Spectrewolf; 02-01-2013 at 09:47 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#40 (permalink) | ||||
![]() Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kansas (GMT-6)
Posts: 17,184
|
I don't know why you highlighted that part of his post but if it's to correct his spelling, his is right, at least over here in NA.
__________________
Currently Boosting: Anarchy: Rush Hour The Best .GIF ever!!
|
||||
|
|
|||||
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|